A new top ten

July 20 2009 at 8:02 am (Uncategorized)

I watch most of my films through the magic of DVD rental site Love Film. So that I can manage what I’m sent, I have a ‘top ten’ high priority list. In the past, I’ve populated this list with some of the more glaring gaps in my viewing history – the more obvious classics that I really should have seen by now. When I’ve watched everything in that top ten, I make a new one. I am at the end of my current top ten (the last one arrived the other day) so I started making a new top ten. After realising that most of the films I watch are American or British, and having recently been impressed with Amores Perros and Cinema Paradiso, I was going to do ten foreign films. I had the list all ready, when I watched 2001: A Space Odyssey and I realised something. Science fiction has always been my first love when it comes to film genres and there were a number of classics that I had never seen. So I decided to postpone the foreign films to focus on spaceships, silver suits, ray guns and robots. May the force be with me.

Leave a Reply

