6-12 July 2009

July 15 2009 at 7:14 am (The list)

Amores-perros-PostersAmores Perros (2000)

Massively depressing but that’s what I’ve come to expect from Alejandro González Iñárritu, the director of Babel and 21 Grams. Like those other two, this is a jigsaw in a movie that sees one event (a horrific car crash) shatter the lives of three very different people, with each character’s story ending somewhat bleakly. Still it’s powerful cinema and worth watching if you can stomach the harrowing dog-on-dog violence.

Rating: 5/5

Shame list total: 1,206

39-Steps--The-01-prevThe 39 Steps (1935)

Much as I’d like to, I can’t tick this off the list because I saw when I was in my mid-teens. However, as with most films I’ve revisited since then, it’s infinitely better than I remember. It’s so well paced that you can’t believe how much is crammed into it’s short running time and still leave room for some great dialogue between Robert Donat as man-on-the-run Richard Hannay and Madeleine Carroll as stubborn love interest/sparring partner Pamela.

Rating: 5/5

I also rewatched Little Miss Sunshine, convinced that it couldn’t possibly be as good as I remember it… and it was. The story may be episodic and the characters may be unconvincing stereotypes, but the dialogue zings, the cast is on top form and the ending makes you all warm inside without coming across as too saccharine sweet.

Leave a Reply

