Empire’s 500 greatest films of all time

September 28 2008 at 10:01 am (Uncategorized)

At the moment the shame list is made up of a number of film lists from the AFI top 100 to the Guardian’s 1000 films to see before you die. At the moment, my countdown is currently at 1,207 films – that’s 1,207 films I must see before I die, which hopefully is not for a little while now. I’ve taken into account as many major films lists as I can find so as to get as even a spread as possible.

 

However, a new list has emerged as an important one to take into account. This month’s Empire magazine features a list of the 500 greatest films of all time and purports to be the most ambitious film poll ever attempted. Not only does it include the views of 10,000 Empire readers, but also those of 150 film makers and 50 key film critics. What’s more, because every contributor was asked to compile their top ten, they’ve even managed to put the films in order. So the greatest film of all time is apparently… well, you’ll have to buy the mag to find out.

 

Anyway, I shall be including Empire’s list in my list very shortly so expect the shame list total to rocket up considerably, probably adding months onto my estimated time of completion (which I haven’t even worked out yet).

 

For the record, I submitted my top ten and I’m delighted to see every one of them in the list, although in a list of greatest films that includes Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull (which apparently is better than 12 Monkeys which is a total lie) and Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man’s Chest (which many seem to think is superior to Glengarry Glen Ross which it’s not), that doesn’t necessarily say a lot about my taste in films. Or indeed, that of everyone else.

Leave a Reply

