7-13 July 2008

July 9 2008 at 9:46 pm (The list)

A busy week at work meant that I only watched one film from the list last week, but it was a very important one.

The Sound Of Music (1965)
Yes, I know. How could I have possibly gone this long without seeing The Sound Of Music? Well, it’s called a shame list for a reason, and I can say that I am deeply ashamed to have lived for 28 years without ever having seen this lovely film. What surprised me was how familiar I was with the music – I had heard at least part of each and every song in the film through general popular culture which just goes to show how influential the film is. What surprised me even more was how gripping it was. I knew there were going to be Nazis but I wasn’t prepared for the last half hour being quite so exciting and inspiring. What’s more, for a three-hour film it is deceptively economical. I don’t care how cheesy it is, this is a great film and I am glad I’ve finally discovered it.
Rating: 5/5

Shame list total: 769

Leave a Reply

